€ 2015 Rent Stabilization Association of N.Y.C. Inc. R&A

Revision Date: May 2015
New York City LEASE Rider for Rent Stabilized Tenants

FAILURE BY AN OWNER TO ATTACH A COPY OF THIS RIDER TO THE TENANT’S
LEASE WITHOUT CAUSE MAY RESULT IN A FINE OR OTHER SANCTIONS

NOTICE:

This Rider. with this Notice, must be attached to all vacancy and renewal leases for rent stabilized apartments. This
Rider was prepared pursuant to Seetion 26-511(d) of the New York City Rent Stabilization Law.

This Rider must be in a print size larger than the print size of the lease to which the Rider is attached. The following
language must appear in bold print upon the face of each lease : “ATTACHED RIDER SETS FORTH RIGHTS AND
OBLIGATIONS OF TENANTS AND LANDLORDS UNDER THE RENT STABILIZATION LAW.”

L Section 1 (If this is a renewal lease, do not complete section 1, go to section 2) ]

If Box A is checked, the owner MUST show how the rental amount provided for in such vacancy lease has been
computed above the previous legal regulated rent by completing the following chart. The owner is not entitled to a rent
which is more than the legal regulated rent. For additional information see DHCR Fact Sheet #5. In addition, the owner
MUST complete the Notice To Tenant Disclosure of Bedbug Infestation History, as required by the NYC Housing
Maintenance Code Section 27-2018.1, which is required to be served on the tenant with this T.ease Rider.

ANY INCREASE ABOVE THE PREVIOUS LEGAL REGULATED RENT MUST BE IN ACCORDANCE WITH
ADJUSTMENTS PERMITTED BY THE RENT GUIDELINES BOARD AND THE RENT STABILIZATION CODE.

VACANCY LEASE RENT CALCULATION:
Status of Apartment and Last Tenant (Owner to Check Appropriate Box - (A), (B), (C), or (D).)
] (A) This apartment was rent stabilized when the last tenant moved out. If the last stabilized tenancy was more than

4 years prior to the signing of this lease see RSC 2526.1(a)(3)(iii) or DHCR Fact Sheet # 5 which may entitle
the Owner to additional rent guideline increases over the last stabilized tenancy.

Address: ) _ Apt.#
1. Previous Legal Regulated Rent 3
{i) Additional Rent Guidelinc increases, applicable only, if the last stabilized tenancy
was more than 4 years prior to the signing of this lease. b
2. Statutory Vacancy Increase
(i) Increase based on (1 year) (2 year) lease (circle onc) (. % $

(1) Increase based on length of time (8 years ot more)

since last vacancy allowance or if no vacancy allowance has been taken,
the number of years that the apartment has been subject to stabilization.
(0.6% x number of years) $

(iti) Increase based on low rental amount, If applicable complete (a) or (b). but not both.
() Previous legal regulated rent was less than $300 - $

additional $100 increase, enter 100

(b) If the previous legal regulated rent was $300 or more

but less than 8500 (1) _ %100
the sum of (i) and (i1) {(2) o
(1) minus (2). If less than zero, enter zero  (3) i
Amount from line (3) g
3. Vacancy Allowance, if permitted by NYC Rent Guidelines Board C %) $
4, Guidelines Supplementary Adjustment, if permitted by NYC Rent Guidelines Board $
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5.

Individual Apartment Improvements (1AI1)

‘nant Request for Documentation

t.d  Check the box if you want to request at this time, from the owner, copies of documentation (e.g., bills, invoices,
cancelled checks, etc.) that clarify and support the individual apartment improvement(s) cost detailed in this
rider. 1f you de not request it now, you have the lawful right to request it within 60 days of the execution of
the lease, by certified mail and the owner must then provide the documentation within 30 days either by
certified mail or by personal delivery with a signed acknowledgement receipt by tenant. (Refer to Rider
Section 3, Provision 4 - Other Rent Increases, Individual Apartment Improvements.)

Items
A, athroom Renovation (check all applicable item
{1 Complete Renovation (if this box is checked you are not required to check Individual 1tems)
OR
T Individual ltems
(Check all applicable items)
:l Sink {1 ShowerBody [J Toilet [ Tub
L Plumbing [ Cabinets (! vanity [ Floors and/or Wall Tiles
[ Other {describe) Total Costs for Parts and Labor
*Total Rent Increase (1/40th or 1/60th)
(A)
B. i enovation (check all licable i
[l Complete Renovation (if this box is checked you are not required to check Individual Items)
_ OR
L) Individual Items
(Check all applicable items)
L) Sink L] Stove L1 Refrigerator D Dishwasher
|—__l Cabinets L] Plumbing [ Floor and/or Wall Tiles ] Counter Tops
[ ] Other (describe) Total Costs for Parts and Labor . W,
*Total Rent Increase (1/40th or 1/60th)
(B)
C. Other (check all applicable items)
L; Doors [_—! Windows [J Radiators
[_, Light Fixtures L] Electrical Work [} Sheetrock
L1 Other (describe) Total Costs for Parts and Labor -
*Total Rent Increase (1/40th or 1/60th)
(©)
$
Total 1Al Rent Increase
Sum of (A)(B) and (C)
*1/40th if the building has 35 or fewer units. 1/60th if the building is over 35 units.
6. New Legal Regulated Rent 3
*6A. Preferential Rent $ $
(if charged) (enter 6 or 6A)
7. Air Conditioner Surcharges: $
8. Appliance Surcharges (Tenant installed washer, dryer, dishwasher) $
9. Ancillary Services charged (e.g., garage) R
10. Other (specify ) $
11. New Tenant’s Total Payment $

*H a “preferential rent” is being charged, please read Provision # 20 of this Rider.
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[ (B) This apartment was Rent Controlled at the time the last tenant moved out. This tenant is the first rent stabilized

tenant and the rent agreed to and stated in the lease to which this Rider is attached is $

. The owner

is entitled to charge a market rent to the first rent stabilized tenant. The first rent charged to the first rent stabilized
tenant becomes the initial legal regulated rent for the apartment under the rent stabilization system. However,

if the tenant has reason to believe that this rent exceeds a “fair market rent”, the tenant may file a “Fair Market
Rent Appeal” with DHCR. The owner is required to give the tenant notice, on DHCR Form RR-1, of the right

to file such an appeal. The notice must be served by certified mail. A tenant only has 90 days, after such notice
was mailed to the tenant by the owner by certified mail, to file an appeal. Otherwise, the rent set forth on the
registration form becomes the initial legal regulated rent.

¢ C) The rent for this apartment is an Initial or Restructured Rent pursuant to a Government Program.

(Specity Program

) $

_01‘_
[J (D) Other

$

(Specify - for example, a market or “first” rent after renovation to an individual apartment where the outer
dimensions of the apartment have been substantially altered.)

l Section 2 - This section needs to be completed for vacancy and renewal leases

Lease Rider for the housing accommodation:

(Print Housing Accommodation’s Address and Apartment Number)

Lease Start Date:
Lease Dated:

Lease End Date:

The tenant named in the lease hereby acknowledges the contemporaneous receipt of the above lease rider for the

housing accommaodation stated above.

Print Name of Tenant(s)

Signature(s) and Date

Subject to penalties provided by law the owner of the housing accommodation hereby certifies that the above rider is
hereby contemporaneously provided to the tenant with the signing of the lease and the information provided by the owner

herein is true and accurate based on its records.

Print Name of Owner or Owner’s Agent

Signature and Date

| Section 3 - PROVISIONS
INTRODUCTION: It does not otherwise replace or modify more exact or

This Rider is issued by the New York State Division of
Housing and Community Renewal (“DHCR”), pursuant to
the Rent Stabilization Law (“RSL™}), and Rent Stabilization
Code (“RSC™). 1t generally informs tenants and owners
about their basic rights and responsibilities under the RSI..

This Rider does not contain every rule applicable to
rent stabilized apartments. It is only informational and
its provisions are not part of and do not modify the lease.
However, it must be attached as an addendum to the lease.
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complete sections of the RSL, the RSC, any order of DHCR,
or any order of the New York City Rent Guidelines Board
that govern this tenancy.

The Appendix lists organizations which can provide
assistance to tenants and owners who have inquiries,
complaints or requests relating to subjects covered in
this Rider.

Tenants should keep a copy of this Rider and of any
lease they sign.
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1. GUIDELINES INCREASES FOR RENEWAL
LEASES:

The owner is entitled to increase the rent when a tenant
renews a fease { a “renewal lease™). Each year, elfective
October 1. the New York City Rent Guidelines Board sets
the percentage of maximum permissible increase over the
immediately preceding September 30th rent for leases which
will begin during the year for which the guidelines order is
in effect. The date a lease starts determines which guidelines
order appiics,

Guidelines orders provide increases for Renewal Leases.
The rencewing tenant has the choice of the length of the lease.
Different percentages are set for rent increases for leases of 1
or 2 years. The guidelines order may incorporate additional
provisions, such as a supplementary low-rent adjustment. For
additional information sce DHCR FFact Sheet #26.

2. VACANCY INCREASES FOR VACANCY LEASES

Ihe owner is entitled to increase the previous legal
regulated rent when a new tenant enters into a lease (“vacancy
lease™). The legal regulated rent immediately preceding the
vacancy may be increased by statutory vacancy increases as
follows:

Il the vacancy lease is for a term of 2 years, 20% of
the previous legal regulated rent: or if the vacancy lease
is for a term of 1 year, the increase shall be 20% of the
previous legal regulated rent less an amount cqual to the
difference between:

a) The 2 year renewal lease guideline promulgated by the
New York City Rent Guidelines Board (“RGB™) applied to
the prior legal regulated rent and

b) The | year renewal lease guideline promulgated by the

RGB applied to the prior legal regulated rent.
Additional increases are available to ewners where the legal
regulated rent was last increased by a vacancy allowance
eight or more years prior {o the entering into of the subject
vacancy lease or i no vacancy allowance has been taken,
the number of years thay the apartment has been subject to
stabilization. Generally, this increase equals 0.6%, multiplied
by the prior legal regulated rent, multiplied by the number of
years since the last vacancy increase.

It the prior tegal regulated rent was less than $300. the
total vacancy increase shall be as caleulated above, plus an
addittonal 5100, Ifthe prior legal vegulated was at least $300,
and no more than $300. in no cvent shall the total vacancy
increase be less than $100.

A KGB order may authorize an additional vacancy
“allowance,” which is separate from the statutory vacancy
increase which an owner may charge. The tenant has the
choice of whether the vacancy lease will be for a term of !}
or 2 years. For additional information see DHCR Fact Sheets
#5 and 26.

Pursuant to the Rent Act of 2011, eftcetive June 24, 2011,
owners can charge and collect no more than one (1) vacancy
lease rent increase in a calendar year (January 1st through
December 31st).

3. SECURITY DEPOSITS

An owner may collect a security deposit no greater than
one month’s rent. However, il the present tenant moved info
the apartment prior to the date the apartment first became
rent stabilized, and the owner collected more than one
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month’s rent as security. the owner may continue to retain
a security deposit of up to two month’s rent for that tenant
only. When the rent is increased, the owner may charge an
additional amount to bring the security deposit up 1o the full
amount of the mereased rent to which the owner is entitled.

A security deposit must be deposited in an interest
bearing trust account in a banking organization in New York
State. The tenant has the option of applying the interest to
the rent, leaving the interest in the bank or receiving the
interest annually. For additional information see DHCR Fact
Sheet 49,

4. OTHER RENT INCREASES:

In addition to guidelines and statutory vacancy increases,
the rent may be permanently increased based upon
the following: ,

(A) Individual Apartment Improvements (“IAl”) -
Where an owner installs a new appliance in. or makes
an improvement to, an apartment, the owner may be
entitled to increase the rent of that apartment for the
new appliance or improvement. I an apartment has a
tenant in occupancy, the owner ¢an only receive a rent
increase for the individual apartment improvement if
the tenant consents in writing Lo pay an increase for the
improvement (s). However, if the apartiment is vacant,
tenant consent 1s not required.

Pursuant 1o the Rent Act of 2011, cffective September
24, 2011, in buildings that contain more than 35
apartments, the owner can collect a permanent rent
increase equal to V60t of the cost of the Individual
Apartment  Improvement (JAl). In buildings that
contain 35 apartments or less. the owner can collect a
permancnt rent increase cqual to 1/40th of the cost of
the 1Al as had previously been allowed,

For example, i a new dishwasher is installed in a
vacant apartment, in a 100 umt building, and the cost
18 $900, the rent can be increased by $15 (1/60th of
$900). The same instatlation in a 20 unit building would
resitlt in a $22.50 rent increase (1/40th of $900). The
increase, if taking place on a vacancy, is added to the
fegal rent after the application of the statutory vacancy
increase, not before. (See Fact Sheet # 12 for additional
information}.

The Rent Code Amendments of 2014 require that the
IPHCR Lease Rider offered to vacancy lease tenants
contain notification to the tenant of the right to
request from the owner by certitied mail Individual
Apartment  Improvements (IAI's) supporting
documentation at the fime the lcase is offered or
within 60 days of the execution of the lease. The
owner shall provide such documentation within 30
days of that request in person or by certified mail. A
tenant who is not provided with that documentation
upon demand may file form RA-90 “Teaant’s
Complaint of Owner’s Failure to Renew Lease and/
or Failure to Furnish a copy of a Signed Lease” to
receive a DHCR Order that directs the furnishing of
the Al supporting documentation. (Refer to Rider
Section I, Individual Apartment Improvements.)
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(B) Major Capital Improvements (“MCI”) - An owner
is permitted a rental increase for building-wide major
capital improvements, such as the replacement ofaboiler,
or new plumbing. The owner must receive approval from
DHCR which will permit the owner 1o increase rents
pro-rata by 1/84th of the cost of the improvement. The
owner is not required to obtain tenant consent. Tenants
are served with a notice of the owner’s application and
have a right to challenge the MCI application on certain
grounds. For additional information see DHCR Fact
Sheet #24.

(C) Hardship - An owner may apply to increase the rents of
all rent stabilized apartments based on hardship when:

1. the rents are not sufficient to enable the owner to
maintain approximately the same average annual net
income for a current three-year period as compared
with the annual net income which prevailed on the
average over the period 1968 through 1970, or for
the first three years of operation if the building was
completed since 1968, or for the first three years the
owner owned the building if the owner cannot obtain
records for the years 1968-1970; or

2. where the annual gross rental income does not exceed
the annual operating expenses by a sum equal to at
least 5% of such gross income.

If an application for a rent increase based on a major
capital improvement or hardship is granted, the owner may
charge the increase during the term of an existing lease
only if the lease contains a clause specifically authorizing
the owner to do so.

An increase based on a major capital improvement or
hardship may not exceed 6% in any 12 month period.
Any increase authorized by DHCR which exceeds these
annual limitations may be collected in future years.

5. RENT REGISTRATION:

(A) Initial - An owner must register an apartment’s  rent
and services with DHCR within 90 days from when the
apartment first becomes subject to the RSL. To complete
the rent registration process, the owner must serve the
tenant’s copy of the registration statement upon the tenant.
The tenant may challenge the correctness of the rental as
stated in the registration statement within 90 days of the
certified mailing to the tenant of the tenant’s copy of the
registration statement.

(B) Annual - The annual update to the initial registration must
be filed with DHCR by July 31st with information as
of April 1st of each year. At the time of such filing,
the owner must provide each tenant with the tenant’s
copy. The rental amounts registered annually are
challengable by the filing with DHCR of a “Tenant s
Complaint of Rent Overcharge and/or Excess Security
Deposit” (DHCR Form RA-89). In general, the rental
history that preceedes the 4 year period prior to the
filing of the complaint will not be examined. The
Rent Code Amendments of 2014 do however, provide
for certain exemptions, including histories involving
preferential rents.

(C) Penalties - Failure to register shall bar an owner from
applying for or collecting any rent increases until such
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registration has occurred, except for those rent increases
which were allowable before the failure to register.
However, treble damages will not be imposed against
an owner who collects a rent increase, but has not
registered where the overcharge results solely because
of such owner's failure to file a timely or proper initial
or annual registration statement. Where the owner files
a late registration statement, any rent increase collected
prior to the late registration that would have been lawful
except for the failure to timely and properly register will
not be found to be an overcharge.

6. RENEWAL LEASES:

A tenant has a right to a renewal lease, with certain
exceptions (see provision 10 of this Rider, “When An Owner
May Retuse To Renew A Lease™).

At least 90 days and not more than 150 days before the
expiration of a lease, the owner is required to notify the tenant
in writing that the lease will soon expire. That notice must
also offer the tenant the choice of a 1 or 2 year lease at the
permissible guidelines increase. After receiving the notice, the
tenant always has 60 days to accept the owner’s offer, whether
or not the offer is made within the above time period, or even
beyond the expiration of the lease term.

Any renewal lease, except for the amount of rent and
duration of its term, is required to be on the same terms and
conditions as the expired lease, and a fully executed copy
of the same must be provided to the tenant within 30 days
from the owner’s receipt of the renewal lease or renewal form
signed by the tenant. If the owner does not return a copy of
such fully executed Renewal Lease Form to the tenant within
30 days of receiving the signed renewal lease from the tenant,
the tenant is responsible for payment of the new lease rent and
may file a “Tenant'’s Complaint of Owner’s Failure to Renew
Lease and/or Failure to Furnish a Copy of a Signed Lease”
(DHCR Form RA-90). DHCR shall order the owner to furnish
the copy of the renewal lease or form. If the owner does not
comply within 20 days of such order, the owner shall not be
entitled to collect a rent guidelines increase until the lease or
form is provided.

If a tenant wishes to remain in occupancy beyond the
expiration of the lease, the tenant may not refuse to sign a
proper renewal lease. If the tenant does refuse to sign a
proper rencwal lease, he or she may be subject to an eviction
procceding.

An owner may add to a renewal lease the following clauses
even if such clauses were not included in the tenant’s
prior lease:

(A) the rent may be adjusted by the owner on the basis of
Rent Guidelines Board or DHCR Orders;

if the owner or the lease grants permission to sublet
or assign, the owner may charge a sublet vacancy
allowance for a sub-tenant or assignee, provided the
prime lease is a renewal lease. However, this sublet
vacancy allowance may be charged even if such
clause is not added to the renewal lease. (Subletting
is discussed in provision 9 of this Rider);

(1) if the building in which the apartment is located
is receiving tax benefits pursuant to Section 421-
a of the Real Property Tax Law, a clause may be
added providing for an annual or other periodic rent
increase over the initial rent at an average rate of

(B)

(C)
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not more than 2.2 % of the amount of such initial
renl per annum not to exceed nine, 2.2 percent
increases. Such charge shall not become part of the
legal regulaied rent; however, the cumulative 2.2
percent increases charged prior to the termination
of tax benefits may continue to be collected as a
separate charge;
(2) provisions for rent increases it authorized under
Section 423 of the Real Property Tax Law, a clause
may be added to provide for an annual or other
periodic rent increase over the legal regulated rent
if authorized by Section 423 of the Real Property
Tax Law;
(D) if the Attorney General, pursuant to Section 352-
eeee of the General Business Law, has accepted
for filing an Eviction Plan to convert the buiiding
to cooperative or condominium ownership, a
clause may be added providing that the lease may
be cancelled upon expiration of a 3 year period
after the Plan is declared effective. (The owner
must give the tenant at least 90 days notice that
the 3 year period has expired or will be expiring.)
(E) if a proceeding based on an Owner’s Petition {or
Decontrol (“OPD™) is pending, a clause may be
added providing that the lease will no longer be in
effect as of 60 days from the issuance of' a DHCR
Decontrol Order, or if a Petition for Administrative
Review (“PAR™) is filed against suchorder, 60 days
from the issuance of a DHCR order dismissing or
denying the PAR, (see provision 18 of this Rider,
“Renewal Leases Offered During Pendency of
High Income Deregulation Proceedings™).

7. RENEWAL LEASE SUCCESSION RIGHTS:

In the event that the tenant has permanently vacated
the apartment at the time ot the renewal lease offer, family
members who have lived with the tenant in the apartment
as a primary residence for at least two years immediately
prior to such permanent vacating (one year for family
members who are senior citizens and disabled persons), or
from the inception of the tenancy or commencement of the
relationship, if for less than such periods. are entitled {0 a
renewal lease.

“Family Member™ includes the spouse. son, daughter,
stepson, stepdaughter, lather, mother, stepfather, stepmother,
brother, sister, grandfather, grandmother, grandson,
granddaughter. father-in-law, mother-in-law, son-in-law or
daughter-in-law of the tenant.

“Family member”™ may also include any other person
living with the tenant in the apartment as a primary residence
who can prove emotional and financial commitment and
interdependence between such person and the tenant
Examples of evidence which is considered in determining
whether such emotional and financial commitment and
interdependence existed are set forth in the Rent Stabilization
Code. Renewal lease succession tights are also discussed in
detail in DHCR Fact Sheet #30.

RA-LRI (5/15)

8. SERVICES:

Written notification to the owner or managing agent
should be given but is NOT required, before filing a decrease
in service complaint with DHCR. Owners who have not
received prior written notification from the tenant will
however, be given additional time to respond to a complaint
fited with DHCR. Applications based on a lack of heat or hot
water must be accompanied by a report from the appropriate
city agency.

All Emergency conditions, do not require prior written
notification. These include but are not limited to: vacate
order (5 day notification), fire {5 day notification), no water
apartment wide, no operable toilet, collapsed or collapsing
ceiling or walls, collapsing floor. no heat/hot water apartment
wide (violation required), broken or inoperative apartment
front door lock, all clevators inoperable, no electricity
apartment wide, window to fire escape {docs not open),
water leak (cascading water, soaking electrical fixtures},
window-glass  broken (not cracked), brokenfunusable
fire escapes, air conditioner broken {sumimer season),
Complaints to DHCR on the appropriate DHCR form that
cite any of these emergency conditions will be treated as a
first priority and will be processed as quickly as possible.
1t is recommended that tenants use a separate DHCR
form for any problematic conditions that are not on this
emergency condition list.

Certain condittons, examples of which are setf forth in
the Rent Stabilization Code, which have only a minimal
impact on tenants, do not affect the use and enjoyment of
the premises, and may exist despite regular maintenance of
services. These conditions do not rise to the levet of a failure
to maintain required services. The passage of time during
which a disputed scrvice was not provided without complaint
may be considered in determining whether a condition is de
minimis, For this purpose, the passage of 4 vears or more
will be considered presumptive evidence that the condition
is de minimis.

The amount of any rent reduction ordered by DHCR shalt
be reduced by any credit, abatement or oftset in rent which
the tenant has received pursuant to Sec. 235-b of the Real
Property Law (“Warranty of Habitability™) that relates (o
one or more conditions covered by the DHCR Order. For
additional information see DHCR Fact Sheets #3, 14 and 37.

9. SUBLETTING AND ASSIGNMENT:

A tenant has the right to sublet hissher apartment, cven
i’ subletting is prohibited in the lease, provided that the
tenant complies strictly with the provisions of Real Property
Law Section 2206-b, Tenants who do not comply with these
requirements may be subject o eviction proceedings.
Compliance with Section 226-b is not determined by
DHCR, but by a court of competent jurisdiction. If a
tenant in occupancy under a renewal lease sublets his/her
apartment. the owner may charge the tenant, the sublet
allowance provided by the NYC Rent Guidelines Board.
This charge may be passed on to the sub-tenant. However,
upon termination of the sublease, the Legal Regulated Rent
shall revert to the Legal Regulated Rent without the sublet
allowance, The rent increase is the allowance provided
by the NYC Rent Guidelines Board available when the
tenant’s renewal lease commenced, and it takes effect when
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the subletting takes place. If a tenant in occupancy under a
vacancy lease sublets, the owner is not entitled to any rent
increase during the subletting,

A tenant who sublets hisfher apartment is entitled to
charge the sub-tenant the rent permitted under the Rent
Stabilization Law, and may charge a 10% surcharge payable
to the tenant only if the apartment sublet is fully furnished
with the tenant’s furniture. Where the tenant charges the sub-
tenant any additional rent above such surcharge and sublet
allowance, if applicable, the tenant shall be required to pay
to the sub-tenant a penalty of three times the rent overcharge,
and may also be required to pay interest and attorney’s fees.
The tenant may also be subject to an eviction proceeding.

Assignment of Leases

In an assignment, a tenant transfers the entire remainder
of his or her lease to another person (the assignee), and gives
up all of his/her rights to reoccupy the apartment.

Pursuant to the provisions of Real Property Law Section
226-b, a tenant may not assign his/her lease without the written
consent of the owner, unless the lease expressly provides
otherwise. If the owner consents to the assignment of the lease,
the owner may charge the assignee, as a vacancy allowance,
the rent the owner could have charged had the renewal lease
been a vacancy lease. Such vacancy allowance shall remain
part of the Legal Regulated Rent for any subsequent renewal
lease. The rent increase is the vacancy allowance available
when the tenani’s renewal lease commenced and it takes
effect when the assignment takes place.

An owner is not required lo have reasonable grounds to
refuse to consent to the assignment. However, 1f the owner
unreasonably refuses consent, the owner must release the
tenant from the remainder of the lease, if the tenant, upon
30 days notice to the owner, requests to be released.

If the owner refuses to consent to an assignment and does
have reasonable grounds for withholding consent, the tenant
cannot assign and the owner is not required to release the
tenant from the lease. For additional information see DHCR
Fact Sheet #7.

16. WHEN AN OWNER MAY REFUSE TO RENEW
A LEASE:

As long as a tenant pays the lawful rent to which the
owner is entitled, the tenant, except for the specific grounds
in the Rent Stabilization Code, is entitled to remain in the
apartment. An owner may not harass a tenant by engaging in
an intentional course of conduct intended to make the tenant
move {rom his/her apartment.

Below are listed some but not all grounds for eviction:

Without DHCR consent, the owner may refuse to renew
a lease and bring an eviction action in Civil Court at the
expiration of the lease on any of the following grounds:

(A) the tenant refuses (o sign a proper renewal lease offered
by the owner;

(B) the owner secks the apartment in good faith for personal
use or for the personal use of members of the owner’s
immediate family;

(C) the building is owned by a hospital, convent. monastery.
asylum, public institution, college, school, dormitory
or any institution operated exclusively for charitable
or educational purposes and the institution requires the
apartment for residential or nonresidential use pursuant
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to its charitable or educational purposes: or

(D) the tenant does not occupy the apartment as his or her
primary residence. The owner must notify the tenant in
writing at least 90 and not more than 150 days prior to
the expiration of the lease term of the owner’s intention
not to renew the lease.

With DHCR consent, the owner may refuse to renew a
lease upon any of the following grounds:

(A) the owner seeks in good faith to recover possession
of the apartment for the purpose of demolishing the building
and constructing a new building; or

(B) the owner requires the apartment or the land for the
owner’s own use in connection with a business which the
owner owns and operates.

A tenant will be served with a copy of the owner’s
application and has a right to object. If the owner’s
application is granted, the owner may bring an eviction
action in Civil Court.

11. EVICTION WHILE THE LEASE IS IN EFFECT:

The owner may bring an action in Civil Court to evict a

tenant during the term of the lease for the grounds stated in
the Rent Stabilization Law and Rent Stabilization Code.

Below are listed some but not all grounds for eviction:

(A) does not pay rent;

(B) is violating a substantial obligation of the tenancy:

(C) is commitling or permitting a nuisance;

(D) is illegally using or occupying the apartment;

(E) has unreasonably refused the owner access to the
apartment for the purpose of making necessary repairs
or improvements required by law or authorized by
DHCR, or for the purpose of inspection or showing.
The tenant must be given at least 5 days notice of
any such inspection or showing, to be arranged at the
mutual convenience of the tenant and owner, so to
enable the tenant to be present at the inspection or
showing. A tenant cannot be required to permit access
for inspection or showing if such requirement would
be contrary to the lease: or

(F) is occupying an apartment located in a cooperative
or condominium pursuant to an Eviction Plan.
(See subdivision (D) of provision 6 of this Rider,
“Renewal Leases™) A non-purchasing tenant
pursuant to a Non-Eviction Plan may not be evicted,
except on the grounds set forth in (A) - (E) above.

Tenants are cautioned that causing violations of health,

safety, or sanitation standards of housing maintenance laws,
or permitting such violations by a member of the family or
of the household or by a guest, may be the basis for a court
action by the ownet.

12. COOPERATIVE AND CONDOMINIUM
CONVERSION

Tenants who do not purchase their apartments under a Non-
Eviction Conversion Plan continue to be protected by Rent
Stabilization. Conversions are regulated by the New York
State Attorney General. Any cooperative or condominium
conversion plan accepted for filing by the New York State
Attorney General's Office will include specific information
about tenant rights and protections. An informational booklet
aboul the general subject of conversion is available from the
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New York State Atomey General's Office.

A Senior Citizen or a Disabled Person i a building which
is being converted to cooperative or condominium ownership
pursuant to an Eviction Plan is eligible for exemption from
the requirement to purchase his/her apartment to remain in
occupancy. This exemption is available to Senior Citizens,
ov to Disabled Persons with impairments expected to be
permanent, which prevent them from engaging in any
substantial employment. A Conversion Plan accepted for
filing by the New York State Attorney General's office must
contain specific information regarding this exemption.

13. SENIOR CITIZENS AND DiSABILITY RENT

INCREASE EXEMPTION PROGRAM:

Tenants or their spouses who are 62 years of age, or
older, or are persons with a disability, and whose household
income fevel does not exceed the established income level
may qualify for an exemption from Guidelines rent increases,
hardship rent inercascs. major capital improvement rent
increases and rent reductions for DHCR approved electrical
sub-metering conversions and High-Rent High-lncome
dercgulation. This exemption will only be for a portion of
the increase which causes the tenant’s rent to exceed one-
third of the “net”™ houschold income. and is not available for
mereases based on new services or equipment within the
apartment, Questions concerning the Senior Citizen Rent
Increase Exemption (SCRIE) program and the Disability
Rent Increase Exemption (DRIE) program can be addressed
to the New York City Department of Finance.

When a seniorcitizen or person with a disability is granted
a rent increase exemption, the owner may obtain a real estate
tax credit from New York City egual to the amount of the
tenant’s exemption. Notwithstanding any of the above, a
senior citizen or person with a disability who receives a rent
increase exemption is still required to pay a full month’s rent
as a security deposit. For additional information see DHCR
Fact Sheet # 20 and # 21,

14. SPECIAL CASES AND EXCEPTIONS:

Some special rules refating to stabilized rents and
required services may apply to newly constructed buildings
which receive tux abatement or exemption, and to buildings
rehabilitated under certain New York City, New York State,
or federal financing or mortgage insurance programs. The
rules mentioned in this Rider do not necessarily apply to
rent stabilized apartments located n hotels. A separate
Hotel Rights Notice informing permanent hotel tenants and
owners of their basic rights and responsibilities under the
Rem Stabilization Law is available from DHCR.

15 HIGH INCOME RENT DEREGULATION:

Upon the issuance of an Order by DHCR, apartiments
which: {1} are occupied by persons who have a total annual
income in excess of $200.000 per annum for each of the two
preceding calendar years and {2) have a legal regulated rent
ot $2.500 or more per month, shall no longer be subject to
rent regulation (“High Income Remt Deregulation™). The
Rent Stabilization Law permits an owner to file a Petition
for High Income Rent Deregulation on an annual basis. As
part of the process, the tenant will be required to identify
all persons who occupy the apartment as their primary
residence on other than a temporary basis, excluding bona
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fide employees of the tenant(s) and sub-tenants, and certify
whether the total anmual income was in excess of $200,000
in each of the two preceding calendar years. If the tenant
fails to provide the requested information to DHCR, an
order of deregulation will be issued. It the tenant provides
the requested information and certifies that the total annual
income was not in excess of $200,000, the NYS Department
of Taxation and Finance will review whether the apartment
is occupied by persons who have a total annual income in
excess of $200,000 in each of the two preceding calendar
years. Owners cannot serve the Income Certification
Forms and/or Petition for High Income Rent Deregulation
on an apartment where the tenant is the recipient of a
Senior Citizen Rent Increase Exemption (SCRIE) or a
Disability Rent Increase Exemption (DRIE).

Pursuant to the Rent Act of 2011, the thresholds for
deregulation were changed t0$2,500 in rent and $200,000
in annual income. Prior to this, the thresholds had been
$2,000 in rent and $175,000 in annual income. For High-
Rent High-Income Deregulation, the eftective date is July 1,
2011, which means that it will begin to apply to applications
filed in the 2012 cycle, not to applications filed prior to July
b, 2011

16. HIGH RENT VACANCY DEREGULATION:

If an apartment is vacated and the rent can be lawfully
raised to a legal regulated rent (Rent Stabilization) or
maximum rent (Rent Control) of $2,500 or more per menth,
such apartment qualifies for permanent deregulation, and
therefore for removal from all rent regulation. For High-Rent
Vacancy Deregulation, the effective date for the threshold
change from $2.000 to $2.500 is June 24, 201 1.

Pursuant to the Rent Code Amendments of 2014, the first
tenant of the apartment afier it becornes deregulated is required
to be served by the owner with a DHCR Notice (HRVD-N).
The notice 1s required to contain the reason for deregulation,
the last reguiated rent and the calculation of the new rent that
qualified for deregulation. In addition, the owner (s required
1o serve the tenant with a copy of a registration statement filed
with DHCR indicating the dereguinted status and the last legal
regulated rent. (See Fact Sheet # 36),

17. RENEWAL LEASES OFFERED DURING
PENDENCY QF HIGH INCOME DEREGULATION
PROCEEDINGS:

Where a High income Deregulation Proceeding is
pending before DHCR and the owner is required to offer a
rencwal lease to the tenant, a separate rider may be attached to
and served with the Rent Stabilization Law “Renewal Lease
Form” (RTP-8). If so attached and served, it shall become
part of and modify the Notice and Renewal Lease. The text
of the rider is set forth below and may not be modified or
altered without approval of DHCR,

NOTICE TO TENANT:

Pursuant to Section S-a of the Emergency Tenant
Protection Act, or Section 26-504.3 of the Rent Stabilization
Law, the owner has commenced a proceeding before
DHCR for deregulation of your apartment by filing a
Petition by Owner for High Income Rent Deregulation on
, 20

(Date)
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That proceeding is now pending before DHCR.IfDHCR
grants the petition for deregulation, this renewal lease
shall be cancelled and shall terminate after 60 days from
the date of issuance of an order granting such petition.
In the event that you file a Petition for Administrative
Review (PAR) the order of deregulation, or if you have
already filed such PAR and it is pending before DHCR
at the time you receive this Notice, and the PAR is
subsequently dismissed or denied, this renewal lease
shall be cancelled and shall terminate after 60 days
from the issuance by DHCR of an order dismissing or
denying the PAR.

Upon such termination of this renewal lease, the
liability of the parties for the further performance of the
terms.covenants and conditions of this rencwal lease
shall immedialely cease.

18. AIR CONDITIONER SURCHARGES:

Owners are authorized to collect surcharges from rent
stabilized tenants for the use of air conditioncrs. DHCR
issues an annual update to an Operational Bulletin in which
the lawful surcharges are established for the year. One
surcharge amount is established for tenants in buildings
where electricity is included in the rent. Another surcharge
is established for tenants who pay for their own electricity.
Such surcharges shall not become part of the legal regulated
rent. (See Operational Bulletin 84-4 and Fact Sheet # 27).

19. SURCHARGES FOR TENANT INSTALLED
WASHING MACHINES, DRYERS AND
DISHWASHERS:

Unless a lease provides otherwise, owners are mnot
required to allow tenants 10 install washing machines,
dryers or dishwashers. Where a tenant requests permission
from the owner to install such appliance or appliances,
whether permanently installed or portable. and the owner
consents, the owner may collect a surcharge or surcharges.
DHCR issues periodic updates to an Operational Bulletin
that sets forth surcharges for washing machines, dryers
and dishwashers. One sct of surcharges is established for
tenants in buildings where electricity is included in the
rent. Another set of surcharges is established for tenants
who pay their own electricity. Such surcharges shall not
become part of the rent. (See Operational Bulletin 2005-1)

20. PREFERENTIAL RENT:

A preferential rent is a rent which an owner agrees Lo
charge an amount that is lower than the legal regulated rent
that the owner could lawfully collect. The legal regulated
rent is required to be written into the vacancy lease and all
subsequent renewal leases. The terms of the lease may affect
the owner’s right to terminate a preferential rent. If the lease
agreement contains a clause that the preferential rent shall
continue for the term of the tenancy, not just the specific lease
term, then the preferential reni cannot be terminated for that
tenancy. The preferential rent continues to be the basis for
future rent increases. However, if the lease is silent and did
not contain a clause that clarified whether the preferential
rent was for the “term of the lease” or “the entire term of the
tenancy”, then the owner may terminate the preferential rent
at the time of the lease renewal. Ordinarily, the rental history
preceding the 4 year period to the filing of an overcharge
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complaint will not be examined. However, the Rent Code
Amendments of 2014 do provide that when an owner claims
that the rent being charged is “preferential”, DHCR will
examine the lease and rent history immediately preceding
such preferential rent, even if it is before 4 years, to assure
that the higher “legal” rent is correctly calculated and lawful.
(See Fact Sheet # 40.)

21. LANGUAGE ACCESS:

Copies of the Rider are available for informational
purposes only, in languages required by DHCR’s Language
Access Plan and can be viewed at www.nysher.org, However,
the Rider is required to be offered and executed in English
only, at the issuance of a vacancy lease or renewal lease. The
DHCR RTP-8 Renewal Lease Form is also required to be
offered and executed in English only.

Copias de la Clusula estan disponibles con__fines
informativos en los idiomas req ueridos por el Plan de Acceso
Lingiistico de la DHCR y s€ pueden ver en www.nysher.
org. Sin embargo, se requicre que la Clausula se ofrezca
yJejecute en?inglés solamente, cn la emisién de un
contrato de arrendamiento por desocupacion o contrato de
renovacién de arrendamiento. El Formulario del Contrato
de Renovacion de Arrendamicnto RTP-8 de la DHCP
también se debe ofrecer y?ejecutar en inglés solamente.

Kopi Dokiman Siplemant¢a disponib poubay enfomasyon
sélman, nan lang ki obligatwa dapre Plan Aks¢ nan
Lang DHCR epi ou kapab weé yo sou sitweb www.nysher.
org. Men, yo [et pou bay ak egzekite Dokiman Siplemante
a nan lang Angle sélman, 1¢ y ap bay yon nouvo kontra
Iwaye oswa yon renouvelman kontra lwaye. Pwopriyete kay
la gen obligasyon tou pou bay ak egzekite Fom Renouvelman
Kontra Lwaye DHCR RTP-8 nan lang Anglé sélman.

Copie della postilla sono disponibili per finalitd
esclusivamente informative nelle lingue previste dal Piano di
assistenza linguistica (Language Access Plan) del DHCR
¢ sono consultabili sul sito www.nyshcr.org. La postilla,
{uttavia, va presentata e resa esecutiva solo in lingua inglese,
alla stipula di un contratto di locazione di immobile liberoo
di rinnovo. Anche il modulo del contratto di rinnovo RTP-
& del DHCR va presentato ¢ perfezionato solo in lingua
inglese.

G GRS Sy HifE st DHCR
sERT st iR | ZUESIE  HOME  www.nysher.org
B o il AR 7% P RELA S A ALY » ASKET
WG WA LI 17 9801 17 BA 9% SCRR 2 . < P BB
fit5% ity " DHCR RTP-8 SUIHETR ) HIEITRC
IR LABESIRR R 2

W Bopae] AMRS DHCRY <o) Mz A¥
(Language Access Plan) oA QT8 dol®
Ay Awe =ao gyl AF¥HY, www.nysher.org
oA & & dauy. kAR = Sokx= 34 9l
Aoka] i Z0A alt) Aleka] wha) Aot ol snt
A w AAgof §hvlvk. DHCR RTP-8 A Qe
AlekA] (Renewal Lease Form)!e Aol gyl Ay W
A2 8l o Fytt.

i
[
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Kommu sannoro Npuiaoxkenns 10CTy b HOKIIOMHIEILHO
B uipopMalMoHiLIX (esx Ha g3bIkax, HPEAYCMOTPEHHBIX
IporpavMmoii s3eikoBoro aocTyna (Language Access Plan)
A o-ROMMYHANLHOI AAMUHHCTPALIMK Ha CaliTe WWwW.
nysher.org. Ounako vacroswee ITpHaocKeHHe J0MKHO BbITh
NPEUTOHKEHO H NOATIHCAHO UCKITOTHTENBHO Ha aHTNHHCKOM
A3LIKE NPH TIONMCAHUN BHOBL 3aKNIOYCHHOTO JI0TOBOpa
APCHJILE Wil ZI0VOBOPA O BPOATIEHNH CPOKa apen b, PopMa
fpojuietivs cpoka apen,/ it RTP-8 XKumuirno-kommyHanshoii
AAMMHUCTPAUAK  TAKKE AOMKHA OLITL NPEUIOKCHA |
NoAMHCAHAa HCKOUHTENBLHO HA AHENMTCKOM #3bIKE.

APPENDIX
Some agencics which can provide assistance

State of New York Division of Housing and Community
Renewal (DHCR)

Office of Rent Administration

Gertz Plaza, 92-31 Union Hall Street,

Jamaica, New York 11433

Web site: www.nysher.org

Email address: rentinfo@nysher.org

DHCR is a state agency empowered to administer and
enforce the Rent Laws. Tenants can contact DHCR at our
website: www.nysher.org or by visiting one of our Public
Information Offices listed below for assistance.

Bronx
2400 Halsey Street
Bronx, NY 10461

Quecns
92-31 Union Hail Street
Jamaica, NY 11433

Lower Manhattan
25 Beaver Street
New York, NY 10004

Brooklyn
55 Hanson Place
Brooklyn, NY 11217

Upper Manhattan
163 West 125th Street
New York, NY {0427

Attorney General of the State of New York -
WWW.AZ.NY.Zov
120 Broadway. New York, NY 10271

Consumer Frauds and Protection Bureau:

- investigates and enjoins illegal or fraudulent business
practices, including the overcharging of rent and
mishandling of rent security deposits by owners.

Real Estate Financing Bureau:

- administers and enforces the laws governing
cooperative and  condominium  conversions.
Investigates complaints from tenants in buildings
undergoing cooperative or condominium conversion
concerning  allegations  of improper disclosure,
harassment, and misleading information.
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New York City Department of Housing Preservation and
Development (HPD): - www.nyc.gov/hpd

Division of Code Enforcement

Principal Office

100 Gold Street, New York, N.Y. 10038

- enforcement of housing maintenance standards,

New York City Central Complaint Burean

215 West 125th Street, New York, N.Y. 10027

- receives telephone complaints relating to physical
maintenance, health, safety and sanitation standards,
including emergency heat and hot water service,
This service is available 24 hours per day. However,
complaints as to emergency heat service are received
only between October 1st and May 31st of each year.

New York City Department of Finance -
www.nyc.gov/finance
SCRIE/DRIE Exemption
59 Maiden Lane, 19th Floor,
New York, New York, 10038
- administers the Senior Citizen Rent Increase
Exemption program and Disability Rent Increase
Exemption program.

Mayor’s Office for People with Disabilities -
www.nye.gov/mopd
- 100 Gold Street. 2nd Floor, New York, NY 10038

New York City Rent Guidelines Board (RGB) -
www.housingnyc.com

51 Chambers Street, Room 202, New York, N.Y, 10007

- promulgates annual percentage of rent increases for rent
stabilized apartments and provides information on
guidelines orders.

Copies of New York State and New York City rent laws are
available in the business section of some public libraries or
NYS.gov. A person should call or write to a public library to
determine the exact library which has such legal material.

DHCR has approved this form and font size as in compliance
with RSAC section 2522.5(c).
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